Twickenham Cemetery (Richmond)
Twickenham Cemetery was once surrounded by fields and orchards. It was established by Twickenham Burial Board in 1868, originally on a site of c.3.23 hectares (8 acres) but since enlarged. It retains its pair of gothic chapels and ornamental entrance gates and although the monuments are generally quite modest, there is a charming garden commemorating the private graves of Variety Artistes. The cemetery is hedged to Percy Road and contains a number of mature trees, including conifers and monkey puzzle, numerous flat-topped yews and many of more recent planting.
- Site location:
- Hospital Bridge Road/Percy Road, Twickenham
- TW2 6LD
- Type of site:
- Open to public?
- Opening times:
- 10am-4.30pm (November - March); 10am - 6.30pm (April - October)
- Special conditions:
- Public transport:
- Rail: Twickenham, Whitton. Bus: H22, 418, 110.
The information shown above was correct at the time of the last update 01/06/2009
Please check with the site owner or manager for latest news. www.richmond.gov.uk/cemeteries
Full Site Description
The cemetery chapels were designed by the Ealing Borough Surveyor Charles Jones, a pair of gothic buildings, each with a spire, and linked by a porte-cochère topped by a substantial bellcote, At the entrance at the corner of Percy Road and Hospital Bridge Road are ornamental gates with stone piers, just inside which is an entrance lodge built in c.1930. The cemetery is hedged to Percy Road and has a number of mature trees, including conifers and monkey puzzle, numerous flat-topped yews and many more recently planted trees. The monuments are generally quite modest, although there is a charming garden commemorating the private graves of Variety Artistes laid out in a rectangular area with a central crazy-paved path leading to a classical marble column erected by the Variety Artistes Benevolent Fund and Institution, which was based in Staines Road, Twickenham. The column's four faces list names of 'Artistes of the Variety Profession' in chronological order in lead lettering, the first being James William Hanchard ('Major Miles') who died 1 December 1926. Behind the column is a wall on which further names are inscribed up until 1988, and the low walls along the path are similarly inscribed.
An interesting monument is that of Francis Francis (d.1886), novelist and angler whose tomb has a bronze fishing basket, rods and hat and the epitaph 'And angle on, and beg to have a quiet passage to a welcome grave'. Others buried here include Edward Stanley Gibbon (d.1913), the stamp dealer; the Rt. Hon Jonathan Peel (d.1879), MP for Huntingdon and Secretary of State for War in 1858-59 and a successful race horse owner who won first and second places at the Derby in 1844. Members of the family of the famous tea-merchant Thomas Twining (1806-1895) are buried here, including his wife Victoria (d.1899).
Hugh Meller & Brian Parsons, 'London Cemeteries, An Illustrated Guide and Gazetteer', 4th edition (The History Press, 2008)
Further Information (Planning and Conservation)
- Grid ref:
- Size in hectares:
- Site ownership:
- LB Richmond
- Site management:
- Environment Planning and Review, Cemeteries Office
- Charles Jones, Ealing Borough Surveyor
- Listed structures:
- On National Heritage List for England (NHLE), Parks & Gardens:
- Registered common or village green on Commons Registration Act 1965:
- Protected under London Squares Preservation Act 1931:
Local Authority Data
The information below is taken from the relevant Local Authority's planning legislation, which was correct at the time of research but may have been amended in the interim. Please check with the Local Authority for latest planning information.
- On Local List:
- In Conservation Area:
- Tree Preservation Order:
- Nature Conservation Area:
- Green Belt:
- Metropolitan Open Land:
- Special Policy Area:
- Other LA designation:
- Open Land of Townscape Importance